Skip to main content

About the CAR

Northwestern’s animal care program has been AAALAC International accredited since 1985 and continues to uphold the highest standards of animal care in an ongoing quest for the advancement of knowledge that provides benefits to both humans and animal health. Animal research has played a vital role in virtually every major biomedical advance of the last century. These animals have played an essential role in the development of treatments that provide hope to patients with serious diseases such as Alzheimer’s, diabetes, cancer, AIDS and heart disease. Northwestern University is dedicated to continuing the valuable research that leads to improved quality of life for people afflicted with disease.

Mission Statement 

The Committee on Animal Resources (CAR) is a faculty committee that provides advice to the Office for Research on issues regarding animal care facilities and operations. The role of the committee is to:

  • Act as a liaison between animal researchers and leadership within schools and the Office for Research particularly as a means to facilitate and support animal research at Northwestern University;
  • Advise on the long-term planning for the needs of Northwestern University animal researchers;
  • Facilitate communication between the Northwestern University faculty and the Center for Comparative Medicine (CCM), the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC), and the IACUC Office;
  • Provide recommendations to the CCM Executive Director on improvements to the animal care program;
  • Refer onward to the IACUC and Institutional Official (IO) issues brought to CAR that fall within the regulatory domain of the IACUC and the IO.

(Last Revised December, 2015) 

Organization of the Committee on Animal Resources

CAR reports to the Office for Research. The Chair of the Committee on Animal Resources is appointed by the Vice President for Research and serves for a term of three years. The Committee is composed of appointed members and several ex officio members, as follows:

  • One faculty member who will serve as chair
  • At least six faculty who will be chosen to represent the various constituencies of the life sciences community who use animals in research; each campus will have a minimum of two members
  • Chair of the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
  • Executive Director of CCM, ex officio
  • Director of the IACUC Office, ex officio
  • Vice Dean for Research or designate in the Feinberg School of Medicine, ex officio
  • Associate Vice Presidents for Research, ex officio
  • Vice President for Research, ex officio